All available video of Conference discussions are available on YouTube.

An album of Conference photographs is available on our Facebook page.

By The Numbers
232: In–person participants.
302: Unique online viewers over the course of both days
919: Tweets with #NCoC for 2.2 million impressions

Program Overview
A full program agenda is available for download here.

The afternoon plenary, Polarization and Congress: “Of the People?” , was moderated by Senator Bob Graham. Panelists were Bill Bishop, author of The Big Sort ; Maria Teresa Kumar, founding president and CEO of Voto Latino; Jonathan Capehart of The Washington Post ; and Congressman Tom Davis.

That evening, NCoC hosted an awards reception and presentation to recognize key individuals for their service to our community. Congresswoman Ileana Ros–Lehtinen presented the Franklin Award to General Ann Dunwoody. NCoC presented Washington Redskins’ Alfred Morris with the role model of the year award. David Rubenstein, co–founder and CEO of the Carlyle Group, was given the Joseph H. Kanter Citizen of the Year Award. David B. Smith, former executive director of NCoC, presented Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard with the Major George A. Smith HOOAH Award.

Friday began with remarks from NCoC Executive Director Ilir Zherka, updating the Conference on NCoC’s programs and progress. These remarks were followed by a 60–year review of civic engagement. Gail Leftwich Kitch, COO of the Voter Participation Center, moderated the panel. Panelists included Cheryl Contee, partner at Fission Strategy; Chris Gates, Executive Director of PACE; and Senator Bob Graham. John Bridgeland, President and CEO of Civic Enterprises, played the role of respondent.

The Conference then separated into four learning summit breakout sessions:

Civic Education: Civic Mission of Schools
Moderated by Phil Duncan, this panel included Mary Ellen Daneels of Community High School; Joe Kahne of The MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Youth and Participatory Politics; Peter Levine from Circle; and Frank Lomonte of the Student Press Law Center. This summit was presented in collaboration with the Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools.

Open Data & Technology: Civic Data Challenge
Presented by MindMixer, this learning summit included a panel of tech experts followed by rapid–fire presentations from civic startups and civic data challenge finalists. Speakers included Nick Bowden of MindMixer; Muki Hansteen–Izora of Intel Labs; Abhi Nemani From Code for America; and Marnie Webb of Caravan Studios. Presenters included Michelle Lee from Textizen; Nikita Bier from Outline; and Michal Tyra, Mauro Whiteman, and Jevin Hodge from the Manifesto Project.

Research: Civic Health Initiatives
NCoC Board Chairman Michael Weiser moderated a panel of civic health field experts. Panelists included Lattie Coor from the Center for the Future of Arizona; Doug Dobson from the Florida Joint Center for Citizenship; Jennifer Domagal–Goldman of the American Democracy Project at AASCU; and Regina Lawrence from the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life.

Corporate Citizenship: The Civic 50
NCoC Executive Director Ilir Zherka moderated a panel that included Chris Montross of Aetna; Jackie Norris of Points Of Light; Andrea Taylor of Microsoft; and Megan Wood of Southwest Airlines.

After lunch, NCoC’s Chief Program Officer Kristen Cambell 2013’s Civic Data Challenge finalists. this was followed by discussion focused on the economic case for service. it included Wendy Spencer of the Corporation for National & Community Service; John Bridgeland ; and Michael Weiser. The Conference closed with a touching Naturalization Ceremony, welcoming 20 new American citizens. Eric Federing and Ilir Zherka opened and closed the ceremony with personal and inspiring accounts of their families’ journeys to becoming American citizens. The ceremony was produced in collaboration with Citizenship Counts.

The 2013 National Conference on Citizenship was made possible with generous support from GiveGab, Macy’s, Sigma–Aldrich, MindMixer, Sprint, KPMG, and the Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools. In addition, we would like to thank the following generous individuals: Michael and Julie Weiser, Garrett Graff, The A. G. Newmyer III Foundation, Gail Leftwich Kitch, Tom Gottschalk, Tom Susman and Susan Braden, Phil Duncan, and Barry B. Byrd.