

NCoC has offered the below awards in conjunction with the Annual Conference:

Joseph H. Kanter Citizen of the Year Award

The Citizen of the Year Award is named in honor of NCoC's long-time Chairman, Joseph H. Kanter. It aims to recognize the extraordinary contributions of a private citizen in furthering the cause of civic engagement and democratic practice.

Franklin Award

NCoC shares Ben Franklin's belief that "to provide benefits for the common good is divine." In his name, the Franklin Award is given annually to an outstanding individual in federal service who is working to strengthen citizenship in America.

HOOAH Award

The goal for the annual HOOAH Award is to honor amazing patriots who are empowering the next generation of military veterans to continue to serve beyond their time in uniform. A Board of Advisors chooses the Honoree using the following criteria: he or she MUST be a US military veteran; MUST attend the Annual Conference to receive the award; and MUST be currently serving his or her community in one of the following ways:

- As a social entrepreneur who has used his or her own experience and network to provide opportunities for other veterans to serve their communities
- As a public servant who has continued to serve the country and fellow veterans through government service (championing policies empowering veterans)
- As a businessman/woman who has ensured that military and community service are a critical part of their corporate culture leveraging their assets to support veterans.

This recognition of a notable veteran who defines his or her citizenship through service to our country was established in 2009 with the assistance of the Major George A. Smith Memorial Fund. Major (Ret.) George A. Smith served his country as a career military officer, serving in the Army for over 20 years. After retiring, he continued his acts of service while working for FEMA and a local Veterans Administration hospital.